Amanuensis Monday – A family history


The past week has been quite hectic around my house! Between juggling a job, school. and family, I haven’t been blogging as much as I would like. I set a goal when I started this blog, to write something everyday or every other day and as I got on here today realized it’s been almost a week since you’ve heard from me. Well enough with the rambling!

Today is Amanuensis Monday! What, you may ask, is Amanuensis Monday? Well, fellow blogger Transylvanian Dutch gives the definition for amanuensis as a person who is employed to write what another dictates or to copy what has been written by another. Why is Amanuensis Monday important? Well, I’m glad you asked! It’s important because papers get lost and ink fades over time.

So today I’m going to transcribe the first page of a set of notes that my Great-Aunt Marion left about our family. As the week goes on I will add information to my blog about each of the ancestors mentioned! So check back often! Click on the name to go to the post about that person.

Pg. 1

Daddy’s (George Arthur Johann Mielke 2-20-1977 died 11-30-1943) family:

Mother: Augusta Fredrica Strauss Mielke (cousin to Johann Sebastian Strauss) born 2-17-1840 died 1919

Father: Johann Mielke born 12-20-1841 died 1912

Children:

Image

Happy searching!!

SueAnn

Leave a Reply

