Sentimental Sunday – McKnight Family Photo


This is the only picture I have of my grandparents Bernard and Bernice Mansfield McKnight with their children (well minus my uncle Ricky who wasn’t born yet) Ronald and Raymond (my daddy). I believe this picture was taken at Easter 1953 in Friendship or Crockett Mills, Crockett County, Tennessee. My dad would have been turning 3 later that month, my uncle Ron would have just turned 4 (they were only 13 months apart), Bernice was 20 and Bernard 29.

Bernice, Ray, Bernard, and Ron McKnight
Taken April 1953 in Crockett County, Tennessee

From the story that my daddy told me, about two years after this photo was taken my Bernice left the family and moved away. My dad would visited her a few times while she was living in Florida but lived mainly with his father in Michigan.

I think that my dad and uncle could have almost passed as twins in those days.

This photo is very sentimental because not is the only family photo I have but also because in 2008 my daddy passed on and then in 2009 my uncle passed. My Grandpa Bernie was 53 when he died, my dad 58, my Uncle Ron 60, and my Uncle Rick passed at the age of 47. Bernice also passed away in 2009 at the age of 76. It’s quite sad to realize my father’s entire generation of his family passed away too soon.

May they all Rest In Peace.

SueAnn

Leave a Reply

